Brock Bowers wins second consecutive John Mackey Award
Connect with us

UGA Football

Brock Bowers wins second consecutive John Mackey Award

Brock Bowers
Photo: Tony Walsh/UGAAA

UGA football junior tight end Brock Bowers has been named the winner of the 2023 John Mackey Award finalist, The Friends of John Mackey have announced.

This is the second consecutive season that Brock Bowers has won the John Mackey Award, which is given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end. The other two finalists this season were Ohio State’s Cade Stover and Colorado State’s Dallin Holker.

Last season, Brock Bowers took home the John Mackey Award over Sam LaPorta of the Iowa Hawkeyes and Michael Mayer of the Notre Dame Fighting Irish.

Bowers is the only Georgia Bulldog to ever win the Mackey Award and is the first two-time winner of the prize.

Brock Bowers hails from Napa, Calif. In his three seasons in Athens, Bowers has caught 175 passes for 2,538 yards (14.5 avg.) and 26 touchdowns. He has also rushed 19 times for 193 yards and five touchdowns.

The sixth-ranked Georgia Bulldogs (12-1) are set to face the fifth-ranked Florida State Seminoles (13-0) in the Capital One Orange Bowl at Hard Rock Stadium in Miami Gardens, Fla., on Saturday, Dec. 30, 2023. The game will be televised by ESPN at 4:00pm ET (Buy Tickets).

2023 UGA Football Schedule

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


2023 UGA Football Tickets

2024 UGA Football Tickets


More in UGA Football